High quality custom knives

High quality handcrafted

nos couteaux disponibles

 My story

At the age of 20, in 1975, I obtained my CAP as a turner-miller. Subsequently, having always been passionate about art, I had the opportunity to join Angel Navarro's studio. For several years he was my teacher in order to share with me his knowledge and his know-how.

In 1982 I was lucky enough to be able to join the house of cutlers in Thiers, always with Angel Navarro. His precision and his know-how allowed him to obtain the title of Meilleur Ouvrier de France (MOF) in 1983. He was for me like a mentor.

This gave me the desire and the courage to register for the MOF competition in 1985. It was in 1986 that with enthusiasm I received the title of MOF. The following year in 1987 I created my workshop in Thiers. It was a great and rewarding experience for me in every way. I had the opportunity to let my inspiration run free. During these years I had the opportunity to make collector's knives as well as some sculptures.

In 1994 I was offered to join Forges de Laguiole as an art cutler, something that I accepted. During my 25 years at the forge I therefore made unique pieces at the customer's request.I had the opportunity to make art knives for presidents of the Republic (Mr Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, Mr François Mitterrand, Mr Jacques Chirac, Mr François Hollande as well as for Mr Emmanuel Macron).

I also made art knives for various celebrities (Mr Eddy Mitchell, Mr Alain Delon and Mr Serge Blanco). In addition, I had the honor of making prototypes for great designers like Mr Starck and Mr Ora-ïto as well as for Sonia Rikiel. I also made orders for unique pieces for foreign politicians as well as for an Arab Emir.

In this year 2019 I retired. Unable to bring myself to stop my passion, I decided to create my workshop in order to give free rein to my inspiration.

OUR BLADES:

We offer blades made by hand, in stainless steel, carbon, stainless damask or carbon damask.

OUR SLEEVE MATERIALS:

For your knife we present ribs in noble materials such as mammoth ivory, giraffe bone, shagreen, etc. Or more common materials like horn, ebony, boxwood or any kind of leather, etc.

OUR FLIES AND SPRINGS:

All our flies and springs are unique. They are handmade according to your wishes.
 

PRECIOUS MATERIALS:

For more prestige and elegance, we provide you with diamonds, sapphires, rubies, coral, mother-of-pearl and many more.

Press Info

Coutellerie Coutellia: a look back at 28 past editions of the cutlery fair in Thiers

While the 29th edition of Coutellia begins this Saturday morning and for the whole weekend on the site of the Jo-Cognet room, in Thiers, we take a look back at some of the highlights that marked past editions.

LAGUIOLE PRESENTS A UNIQUE "JUNGLE" MODEL AT 4,377 EUROS

A formidable marquetry work with the signature of the Meilleur Ouvrier de France of the Forge de Laguiole, Virgilio Munoz Caballero. Expression of exceptional know-how, the handle presents an ebony inlay in a piece of light boxwood in the style of the French decorative arts. The decor is reminiscent of a giraffe's coat.

Coutellerie Coutellia: a look back at 28 past editions of the cutlery fair in Thiers

Laguiole “ASSE” made by Virgilio Munoz Caballero, Meilleur Ouvrier de France in cutlery.  

Munoz virgilio single knife

The most expensive knife will surely be the Munoz Full handle knife in Aubrac cow horn, Laguiole bull sculpted in place of the bee, hand guilloché spring. Knife made by Virgilio Munoz, Meilleur Ouvrier de France. Estimate: 800 to 1000 €

Munoz Virgilio Mof

Salon du Sicac today and tomorrow Paris

Testimonials

en_USEnglish (United States)
Munoz Virgilio Mof

Mon histoire

 

 

A l’âge de 20 ans soit en 1975 j’ai obtenu mon CAP de tourneur fraiseur. Par la suite, ayant toujours été passionné d’art, j’ai eu l’opportunité de rejoindre l’atelier d’Angel Navarro. Durant plusieurs années il fut mon maître afin de partager avec moi ses connaissances et son savoir-faire.

En 1982 j’ai eu la chance de pouvoir intégrer la maison des couteliers de Thiers et ce toujours avec Angel Navarro. Sa précision et son savoir-faire lui ont permis d’obtenir le titre de Meilleur Ouvrier de France (MOF) en 1983. Il fut pour moi comme un mentor.

Ce qui me donna l’envie et le courage de m’inscrire au concours des MOF en 1985. C’est en 1986 qu’avec enthousiasme je reçus le titre de MOF. L’année suivante en 1987 je créai mon atelier à Thiers. Cela a été pour moi une expérience formidable et enrichissante en tout point. J’eus l’opportunité de laisser libre cours à mon inspiration. Durant ces années j’ai eu l’occasion de faire des couteaux de collection ainsi que quelques sculptures.

En 1994 on me proposa d’intégrer les Forges de Laguiole en tant que coutelier d’art, chose que j’ai accepté. Durant mes 25 années à la forge j’ai donc confectionné des pièces uniques sur demande du client.J’ai eu l’opportunité de faire des couteaux d’art pour des présidents de la république (Mr Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, Mr François Mitterrand, Mr Jacques Chirac, Mr François Hollande ainsi que pour Mr Emmanuel Macron).

J’ai également confectionné des couteaux d’art pour diverse célébrités (Mr Eddy Mitchell, Mr Alain Delon et Mr Serge Blanco). De plus j’ai eu l’honneur de faire des prototypes pour de grands designers comme Mr Starck et Mr Ora-ïto ainsi que pour Sonia Rikiel. J’ai aussi effectué des commandes de pièces uniques pour des politiciens étrangers ainsi que pour un Emir arabe.

En cette année 2019 j’ai pris ma retraite. Ne pouvant me résoudre à arrêter ma passion j’ai décidé de créer mon atelier afin de laisser libre cours à mon inspiration.

NOS LAMES:

Nous vous proposons des lames faites a la main, en inox, carbone, damas inox ou damas carbone.

LES MATÉRIAUX DE NOS MANCHES:

Pour votre couteau nous vous présentons des côtes en matières noble tel que l’ivoire de mammouth, l’os de girafe, galuchat, etc. Ou des matériaux plus communs comme la corne, l’ébène, le buis ou toute sorte de cuir, etc.

NOS MOUCHES ET RESSORTS:

Toutes nos mouches et ressort sont uniques. Ils sont fait main selon vos envies.
 

MATIÈRES PRÉCIEUSES:

Pour plus de prestige et d’élégance nous mettons à votre disposition des diamants, saphir, rubis, du corail, du nacre et bien d’autres encore.

Infos press

Munoz Virgilio Mof

Salon du Sicac aujourd'hui et demain Paris

Munoz Virgilio
Munoz Virgilio Mof la dépêche

le dauphine, Monsieur Munoz Virgilio

Coutellerie Coutellia : retour sur 28 éditions passées du salon coutelier à Thiers

Alors que la 29e édition de Coutellia débute ce samedi matin et pour tout le week-end sur le site de la salle Jo-Cognet, à Thiers, retour sur quelques temps forts qui ont marqué les éditions passées.

LAGUIOLE PRÉSENTE UN MODÈLE UNIQUE « JUNGLE » À 4377 EUROS

Un formidable travail de marqueterie à la signature du Meilleur ouvrier de France de la Forge de Laguiole, Virgilio Munoz Caballero. Expression d’un savoir-faire d’exception, le manche présente une incrustation d’ébène dans une pièce de buis clair à la façon des Arts décoratifs français. Le décor n’est pas sans évoquer le pelage d’une girafe.

Coutellerie Coutellia : retour sur 28 éditions passées du salon coutelier à Thiers

Laguiole “ASSE” réalisé par le Virgilio Munoz Caballero, Meilleur Ouvrier de France en coutellerie.  

Couteau unique Munoz virgilio

Le couteau le plus cher sera surement le Munoz Couteau plein manche en corne de vache Aubrac, Taureau de Laguiole sculpté à la place de l’abeille, ressort guilloché main. Couteau réalisé par Virgilio Munoz, Meilleur ouvrier de France. Estimation : 800 à 1000 €

Témoignages